Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Cragg first off on Irish Athletes on Friday. Full schedule.


At last the athletics programme begins in Beijing on Friday and first into the fray for Ireland will be Alistair Cragg in the men's 1500m heats (12.10 our time) and then Roisin McGettigan and Fionnuala Britton (13.25).
On Saturday morning (02.00 our time, Robert Heffernan goes in the 20k walk, and if he can stay on the right side of the men with the lollipops, could end up in the top six. Later (05.10), Joanne Cuddidy competes in the 400m heats, and hopefully her injury problems are behind her.
Sunday is a busy day, with Pauline Curley off first in the women's marathon 7.30am Beijing time, 12.30am here.

Schedule for Irish athletes (all times Irish)-

Fri Aug 15
12.10: men's 1500m heats, Alistair Cragg
13.25: women's steeplechase, Roisin McGettigan, Fionnuala Britton
Sat Aug 16
02.00; men's 20k walk, Robert Heffernan
05.10: women's 400m heats, Joanne Cuddihy
Sun Aug 17
00:30: Women's marathon, Pauline Curley
12.00: women's 100m hurdles, Derval O'Rourke
13.10: women's 400m hurdles heats, Michelle Carey
14.30: women's steeplechase final, McGettigan
Mon Aug 18:
02.00: men's 400m heats, David Gillikc
02.10 and 03.40: women's hammer qualification, Eileen O'Keeffe
03.05: men's 200 heats, Paul Hession
13.05: men's 200m quarter-finals, Paul Hession?
Tue Aug 19
14.25: men's 200m semi-finals, Paul Hession
Wed Aug 20
12.00: men's 800m heats, Thomas Chamney
13.15: men's 5000m heats, Alistair Cragg
15.20: men's 200m final, Paul Hession?
Thu Aug 21
02.00: women's 20k walk, Olive Loughnane
12.50: men's 800m semi-finals, Thomas Chamney?
Fri Aug 22
00:30: men's 50k walk, Colin Griffin, Jamie Costin
Sat Aug 23
12.30: men's 800m final, Thomas Chamney?
13.10: men's 5000m final, Alistair Cragg?
Sun Aug 24
00.30: men's marathon, Martin Fagan.

No comments: